New Jersey cost guide

Garage Door Repair Cost in New Jersey (2026)

Springs: one vs. both
NJ one $270 – $770; both $200 – $480 · 4 NJ installers, Apr – Oct 2026
US one $75 – $150; both $150 – $350 · HomeAdvisor Jun 2026; HomeGuide Oct 2025
Lift cables
NJ $145 – $350 · 3 NJ installers, Apr – Oct 2026
US $100 – $400 · HomeAdvisor, Jun 20, 2026
Rollers, full set
NJ $100 – $550 · 2 NJ installers, 2026
US $110 – $220 (est.) · garagedoorrepaircalculator.com, 2026
Opener: repair vs. new
NJ repair $120 – $400; new $250 – $950 · 3 NJ installers, Oct 2025 – Oct 2026
US repair $100 – $500; new $218 – $540 · HomeAdvisor, Jun 20, 2026
Panel vs. whole door
NJ panel $250 – $800+; new door from $900 · Ez2Fix Apr 2026; Bergen Restoration 2026
US panel $250 – $1,000; door $754 – $1,707 · HomeAdvisor, Jun 2026
Service call
NJ $69, waived with the repair; or $99/hr · Precision; Home Services Co, Oct 13, 2026
US labor $75 – $150/hr; quick call $50 – $75 · HomeAdvisor, Jun 20, 2026
After-hours premium
NJ no NJ dollar figure published; ask first · Ez2Fix Mar 2026; Home Services Co, Oct 2026
US cable job $250 – $350+ vs. $150 – $250 · HomeGuide, Oct 8, 2025

The NJ installers: Precision Overhead Garage Door of NJ, Bergen Restoration, Ez2Fix, Kraus Garage Door, South Jersey Garage Doors and Home Services Co. Each figure is named to its installer or guide, with the date it shows or the date it was checked, in the tables below. Est. marks an estimator rather than an installer.

Last updated October 13, 2026. LA Trusted Partners routes your request to an independent garage door provider after your consent — it is not the contractor and does not perform, price, or guarantee the work. Every price below comes from a cited published source, with the date it was published or, when the source shows none, the date it was checked.

What Garage Door Repair Costs in New Jersey Against the National Guides (2026)

The national guides agree with each other and the New Jersey installers run above them. HomeAdvisor's June 20, 2026 figure is $155 to $379 with a $265 average, and HomeGuide's January 6, 2026 figure is $150 to $350. In New Jersey, Ez2Fix puts the average Northern NJ repair at $150 to $400 (April 5, 2026), which matches the national range, but its part prices sit higher: both springs $200 to $400 or more against HomeAdvisor's $150 to $350 for the pair. The gap widens at the top of the market. Precision Overhead Garage Door of NJ publishes $450 to $770 per torsion spring installed across nine northern counties (checked October 13, 2026), which is three to five times HomeAdvisor's $75 to $150 per torsion spring (June 17, 2026). South Jersey Garage Doors in Linwood sits in between at $270 for one spring and $380 to $480 for two.

So a New Jersey quote of $400 to $700 for the pair sits inside what installers here publish, and Precision's per-spring price means two of its torsion springs can run $900 to $1,540; a quote above that for two standard springs on a single-car door is outside every figure on this page. The tables below give you the published figure to hold a quote against, by part, with the installer's own number next to the national one.

Published garage door repair cost benchmarks, New Jersey and national, 2026
SourcePublished rangeTypical or averageDatedCovers and notes
Ez2Fix, Elmwood Park NJ$150 – $400Minor adjustments at the low end; custom panels or a top-tier smart opener well aboveApril 5, 2026Northern NJ, parts and labor. Both springs $200 – $400+, cables $150 – $250, opener repair $125 – $250, new opener $300 – $700+, panel $250 – $800+.
Bergen Restoration, Bergen County NJ$100 – $450 for parts repairsNot stated2026 planning ranges, no day shown; checked October 13, 2026Springs $200 – $450, cables $150 – $350, rollers $100 – $250, single panel $250 – $600, opener repair $150 – $400. New doors $900 – $12,000+.
Precision Overhead Garage Door of NJ, Northern NJ$145 – $770 per partTorsion spring $450 – $770 eachNo date on the page; checked October 13, 2026Nine northern counties. Extension spring $220 – $365 each, cables $145 – $255, rollers $350 – $550 per set of 10. Service fee $69, waived with the repair.
Kraus Garage Door, Whippany NJOpener installation from $350 plus partsChain drive $450 – $600 installed; belt drive $650 – $850October 1, 2025North Jersey. Opener repair labor $120 – $350; sensors add $50 – $120, logic boards $120 – $250; a full replacement $450 – $950 installed.
South Jersey Garage Doors, Linwood NJ$270 – $480Single torsion spring $270No date on the page; checked October 13, 2026Two springs $380 – $480.
Home Services Co, Plainfield NJ$99 an hourOne-hour minimumNo date on the page; checked October 13, 2026Labor only; parts itemized. The same figure appears on its North Bergen, Elizabeth and Hamilton pages.
HomeAdvisor, national$155 – $379$265June 20, 2026Low $80, high $700. Labor $75 – $150 an hour. Springs $180 – $350, opener $100 – $500, cables $100 – $400, track $5 – $400, panel $250 – $1,000.
HomeGuide, national$150 – $350Not statedJanuary 6, 2026Spring replacement $150 – $350, cables $150 – $350, opener repair $100 – $200, panel $300 – $900, tune-up $100 – $250. Minimum service fees may apply.
garagedoorrepaircalculator.com, NJ estimator$330 – $575 for both torsion springs (est.)Labor 20 percent above the national median, already applied2026, no day shown; checked October 13, 2026An estimator, not an installer. One torsion spring $220 – $385, cables $155 – $290, rollers $130 – $265, opener repair $170 – $395, new opener $455 – $1,020, panel $290 – $900.

Ranges are the linked sources' own published figures, each checked live on October 13, 2026. Your quote depends on the door, the part, the access, and the provider — treat these as a comparison baseline, not a promise.

Garage Door Spring Replacement Cost in NJ: One Spring, Both Springs, Torsion or Extension

A broken spring is the most common garage door call and the most dangerous repair to attempt yourself. The published New Jersey prices split three ways: one spring, both springs, and the system. South Jersey Garage Doors lists $270 for a single torsion spring and $380 to $480 for two; Precision lists $450 to $770 per torsion spring and $220 to $365 per extension spring (both checked October 13, 2026). Ez2Fix puts both springs at $200 to $400 or more (April 5, 2026) and Bergen Restoration at $200 to $450 (2026).

Torsion springs mount on a shaft above the door; extension springs stretch along the horizontal tracks. HomeGuide prices torsion replacement at $150 to $350 and extension at $120 to $200, and a conversion from extension to torsion at $400 to $800 or more (October 27, 2025). Ez2Fix notes that extension springs cost less but are far more dangerous when they break, because a snapping extension spring becomes a projectile unless safety cables are laced through it (March 24, 2026).

Why every NJ installer says replace both

  • Precision: springs are installed and wear together, so when one has broken the second is often close to its service limit. The technician explains the cost difference; the decision is yours.
  • Ez2Fix: on a two-spring torsion system the other spring has identical wear and will snap within weeks; replacing both avoids a second breakdown and balances the tension.
  • HomeAdvisor: you will almost always have two springs per door, and you should replace both at the same time (June 17, 2026).
  • The arithmetic: the second spring adds $110 to $210 at South Jersey Garage Doors, against a second service fee and a second week without a working door.
Garage door spring replacement cost, New Jersey installers and national guides
Installer or sourceOne torsion springBoth springsDated
South Jersey Garage Doors, Linwood$270$380 – $480Checked October 13, 2026
Precision Overhead Garage Door of NJ, Northern NJ$450 – $770 (extension spring $220 – $365)Precision usually recommends replacing both; the decision is yoursChecked October 13, 2026
Ez2Fix, Elmwood ParkNot priced singly$200 – $400+April 5, 2026
Bergen Restoration, Bergen CountyNot split$200 – $4502026; checked October 13, 2026
HomeAdvisor, national$75 – $150 (extension $50 – $100)$150 – $350, average $250June 17, 2026
HomeGuide, nationalNot split$150 – $350 torsion; $120 – $200 extension; $200 – $500 with cablesOctober 27, 2025
garagedoorrepaircalculator.com, NJ estimator$220 – $385 (est.)$330 – $575 (est.)2026; checked October 13, 2026

Cables, Rollers and a Door Off Its Track

Cables carry the door's weight from the springs to the bottom brackets, and a frayed or snapped cable shows as a door hanging crooked or jammed on one side. Precision prices cables at $145 to $255 installed, depending on the spring system and whether contractor-grade or higher-cycle cable is used (checked October 13, 2026); Ez2Fix at $150 to $250 (April 5, 2026); Bergen Restoration at $150 to $350 (2026). Nationally, HomeGuide prices a standard replacement of both cables at $150 to $250 (October 8, 2025) and HomeAdvisor cable repairs at $100 to $400 (June 20, 2026).

Rollers are the quiet-door repair. Precision replaces all ten as a set for $350 to $550 depending on material and stem size (checked October 13, 2026); Bergen Restoration lists a full set at $100 to $250 (2026). A door off its track or a bent track section is priced by the job: HomeGuide puts track replacement at $125 to $300 and HomeAdvisor track work at $5 for a bracket to $400 for a full track (June 20, 2026). The New Jersey estimator lists off-track work at $175 to $410 and track repair at $160 to $360 (est., 2026).

HomeGuide adds that a broken cable often signals trouble in the springs, tracks or rollers (October 8, 2025), and Ez2Fix that the energy released by a snapping spring often frays the cables or damages the center bearing (March 24, 2026). When one part fails, ask the technician to show you the others before the quote is written.

Garage Door Opener Repair vs. Replacement Cost in NJ

Openers fail in layers: a misaligned safety sensor, a dead remote, drifting travel limits, then a logic board, a stripped gear or the motor. Kraus Garage Door of Whippany prices opener repair labor at $120 to $350, safety sensors at $50 to $120 and a logic board at $120 to $250, and a full replacement at $450 to $950 installed (checked October 13, 2026). Ez2Fix: repair $125 to $250, replacement $300 to $700 or more (April 5, 2026). Bergen Restoration: repair $150 to $400, with a full replacement often cheaper once the unit is 10 or more years old (2026).

By drive type, Kraus publishes installation from $350 plus parts, with a chain drive at $450 to $600 total, a belt drive at $650 to $850, a screw drive at $550 to $700 and a wall-mount jackshaft at $700 to $900 (October 1, 2025). Nationally, HomeAdvisor puts a new opener at $218 to $540 installed, average $379, with the unit itself $100 to $900 and labor $60 to $80 an hour for two to six hours (June 20, 2026). Kraus's rule for repair or replace: 12 to 15 or more years old, a repair above about half the price of a new opener, a failed motor or logic board, or wanting quiet operation and smart control.

Garage door opener repair and installation cost, New Jersey installers and national
OpenerKraus, Whippany NJ (Oct. 1, 2025)Bergen Restoration, Bergen County (2026)HomeAdvisor, national (June 20, 2026)
RepairLabor $120 – $350; sensors +$50 – $120; logic board +$120 – $250$150 – $400$100 – $500
Chain drive, installed$450 – $600$250 – $450$218 – $540 for any type, average $379; unit alone $100 – $900
Belt drive, installed$650 – $850$350 – $750Same range; labor $60 – $80 an hour for two to six hours
Screw or direct drive, installed$550 – $700$500 – $900Same range
Wall-mount (jackshaft), installed$700 – $900Not listedNot listed
Smart control or battery backupNot splitSmart-ready +$100 – $250; retrofit $80 – $200; battery backup +$100 – $250Battery backup $50 – $150; sensors $50 – $100

One Panel or the Whole Door: NJ Replacement Numbers

A bumper tap does not total a door. Ez2Fix prices a replacement panel at $250 to $800 or more and warns that the manufacturer may no longer make the section, that a sun-faded door may not color-match, and that a door with more than two damaged panels is almost always cheaper to replace (April 5, 2026). Bergen Restoration prices one panel at $250 to $600 depending on match and says to replace instead when multiple parts are failing, the door is 15 or more years old, or panels are damaged beyond repair (2026). Nationally, HomeAdvisor puts a panel at $250 to $1,000 (June 20, 2026) and HomeGuide at $300 to $900 (January 6, 2026).

For a new door, Bergen Restoration's 2026 Bergen County ranges run from $900 to $1,600 for a non-insulated single-car steel door to $5,500 to $12,000 or more for custom wood or aluminum and glass. HomeAdvisor's national replacement figure is $754 to $1,707, average $1,231, with labor $200 to $500 and $50 to $200 for hauling the old door if the quote does not include it (June 17, 2026). Bergen Restoration also notes a custom door's lead time of four to ten weeks, which matters if the old door no longer closes.

Garage door panel and full door replacement cost, Bergen County and national
DoorBergen Restoration, Bergen County (2026)HomeAdvisor, national (June 17, 2026)
One panel$250 – $600 depending on match$250 – $1,000 (June 20, 2026 repair guide)
Single-car steel, not insulated$900 – $1,600 installedOne-car door $500 – $3,000; steel $650 – $3,200 per door
Single-car steel, insulated$1,400 – $2,400 installedSame ranges
Double-car steel, insulated$2,200 – $4,200 installedTwo-car door $800 – $5,000
Carriage or faux-wood style$3,000 – $6,500 installedWood $900 – $4,500 per door
Custom wood or aluminum and glass$5,500 – $12,000+Not split
Any replacement, all in$1,200 basic single-car to $8,000+ custom double-car$754 – $1,707, average $1,231; labor $200 – $500; old-door disposal $50 – $200 if not included

Service Call Fees, Hourly Rates and the After-Hours Premium

Two New Jersey pricing models are published. Precision charges a $69 service fee that covers an inspection of the door and opener and is waived if you have them do the repair; its phones are answered around the clock by a live operator (checked October 13, 2026). Home Services Co bills $99 an hour with a one-hour minimum, itemizes parts, says most jobs take one to four hours, and on an emergency call shows the dispatch fee as its own line with no weekend or holiday premium (checked October 13, 2026). Ez2Fix gives a free on-site estimate and a flat-rate price before work begins (April 5 and March 24, 2026). Nationally, HomeAdvisor puts labor at $75 to $150 an hour, most labor bills at $150 to $450, and a quick service call at $50 to $75 (June 20, 2026).

On after-hours pricing, no New Jersey company on this page publishes a dollar figure. The national reference is HomeGuide's cable page: an emergency, after-hours, weekend or holiday cable repair at $250 to $350 or more against $150 to $250 scheduled (October 8, 2025), and HomeAdvisor's instruction to budget for emergency service fees (June 20, 2026). Ask for the after-hours figure, and whether the service fee is credited, before anyone is dispatched.

When the premium is worth paying

  • The door is stuck open and the garage connects to the house, or a car is trapped inside and someone has to be at work in the morning.
  • A spring or cable broke with the door up: the door can fall. Do not run the opener and do not try to lower it by hand.
  • A door hanging off its track in a shared or multi-family garage, where the next person through is the risk.
  • Otherwise, a door that is closed and a car that is out is a next-morning appointment at the scheduled rate.

New Jersey Permit Rule and Home Improvement Contractor Registration

New Jersey's Uniform Construction Code answers the permit question in writing. N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.7(c)1v lists the replacement of any window or door, including garage doors, in the same opening without altering the dimensions or framing of the original opening as ordinary maintenance, and (a) says ordinary maintenance may be made without filing a permit application or giving notice. (c)3ii lists repairs to any installed electrically operated equipment, including any motor-operated device, as ordinary electrical maintenance, which covers the opener. What falls outside: cutting a loadbearing wall, changing the framing, or anything affecting structural or fire safety, under (b). A wider opening or a reframed header is a construction permit, and the minor-work notice path in N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.17A does not cover structural members either. Bergen Restoration lists a building permit at $100 to $300 where required (2026); on a same-opening replacement, ask what it is for.

The trade is registered, not licensed. The Division of Consumer Affairs lists doors and garages among the home improvement work that requires a Home Improvement Contractor registration, and registrations expire every March 31. The number is 13VH followed by eight digits; Precision shows 13VH03118600 and Ez2Fix 13VH13553300 on their pages. Check any number on the State's license verification lookup before work starts, and see how to check a contractor in New Jersey for the full walk-through.

The three lines to ask about

  • A permit fee on a same-opening door or opener job. Ordinary maintenance under 5:23-2.7 needs no permit, inspection or notice.
  • A missing HIC number on the written contract. New Jersey requires it, and the lookup confirms it in under a minute.
  • A wind-load line. The estimator notes that coastal replacements often carry wind-load requirements; ask the installer which rating the door carries and why, rather than taking the line on faith.

Why Garage Door Springs Break in a New Jersey January

Spring season for garage doors is winter. Ez2Fix's March 24, 2026 article explains why: cold steel is less elastic and contracts, which raises internal stress and lets existing micro-fractures spread faster, and the grease on the coils thickens. Northern NJ's swings, a 45°F Tuesday followed by a 12°F Wednesday and back to 38°F by Friday, add hundreds of thermal stress cycles over a winter on top of the mechanical open-and-close cycles. A spring that was at 90 percent of its fatigue life in October crosses the threshold at 7 a.m. on a cold January morning, when the coldest version of the steel is asked to lift the door from rest.

The industry's own data sheet agrees on the inputs. DASMA Technical Data Sheet 190, Factors Affecting Spring Cycle Life, lists doors installed in climates of extreme heat or cold, frequent precipitation or saline coastal air, corrosion, rust pits from which fatigue cracks accelerate, a spring sized for the wrong door, and a lack of lubrication as the things that shorten cycle life. HomeGuide puts torsion spring life at 7 to 14 years or 10,000 to 20,000 cycles (October 27, 2025); Ez2Fix says a standard 10,000-cycle spring lasts about five to seven years when the garage is the family's front door, and that 25,000-cycle springs cost modestly more and last three to five times longer (March 24, 2026).

Before the first freeze

  • If the springs are five or more years old and rated for 10,000 cycles, Ez2Fix calls them the biggest winter risk. A pre-winter inspection is cheaper than a January emergency.
  • Lubricate the springs as the door manufacturer's instructions say; DASMA names regular lubrication as the way to maximize cycle life.
  • Keep the door closed when it is not in use. DASMA says doors left open for long stretches expose the springs to more temperature and moisture swings.
  • If a spring does go, ask for the cycle rating of the replacement. The upgrade is the one line on a spring quote that buys years.

Does Homeowners Insurance Pay for a Garage Door Repair?

Usually not for a spring or an opener. LegalClarity's June 30, 2026 guide: a standard homeowners policy pays for garage door damage from a sudden covered peril (fire, lightning, windstorm, hail, the weight of ice or snow, vandalism, burglary, falling tree limbs, vehicle impact) and excludes wear and tear on springs, cables, rollers and panels, lack of maintenance, and mechanical or electrical breakdown. Its own example: a spring that snaps because a tree fell on the door in a storm is covered; a spring that breaks from years of use is not. An attached garage sits under dwelling coverage (Coverage A); a detached one under other-structures coverage (Coverage B), typically capped at 10 percent of the dwelling amount, so $30,000 on a $300,000 home. MoneyGeek's other-structures guide (March 30, 2026) gives the same 10 percent default: $25,000 on a $250,000 dwelling limit.

Whether to claim: LegalClarity notes a claim stays on your record for three to five years and can raise the premium at renewal, and that $1,000 is the most common deductible, so an $800 repair against a $1,000 deductible pays nothing and still counts as a claim. SmartFinancial (February 26, 2024) puts the average premium increase after a wind claim at 9 percent, about $164 a year on an average policy, and works the same example: $1,250 of wind damage against a $1,000 deductible saves $250 now and loses it within two years. Backing your own car into the closed door is the common case where a homeowners claim can make sense; your auto policy's property damage liability does not pay for your own garage (LegalClarity). A spring, cable or opener repair in the ranges on this page is paid out of pocket.

Six Things That Move a New Jersey Garage Door Quote

Which spring system, and how many

Torsion springs over the door cost more than extension springs along the tracks: Precision prices them at $450 – $770 against $220 – $365 per spring (checked October 13, 2026), and HomeAdvisor at $75 – $150 against $50 – $100 nationally (June 17, 2026). Most two-car doors carry two torsion springs, and every New Jersey installer on this page recommends replacing both when one breaks.

Door weight and insulation

Ez2Fix: a heavier door demands thicker-gauge wire and larger springs, which drives up material cost (March 24, 2026). HomeGuide prices springs on an insulated door at $250 – $400 and on a double door at $300 – $600 against $150 – $350 for a standard sectional (October 27, 2025).

Standard or high-cycle springs

Ez2Fix says a standard spring is rated for about 10,000 cycles, roughly five to seven years for a family that uses the garage as the front door, and that 25,000-cycle springs cost modestly more and last three to five times longer (March 24, 2026).

What broke with the spring

Ez2Fix: when a spring snaps, the release of energy often frays the cables or damages the center bearing, and replacing damaged cables is a modest add-on that prevents a bigger failure next month (March 24, 2026). HomeGuide prices springs plus cables at $200 – $500 against $150 – $350 for springs alone (October 27, 2025).

Where in New Jersey

The estimator at garagedoorrepaircalculator.com applies a 20 percent premium to New Jersey labor over the national median and starts Newark and Jersey City at $340 for a spring job against $330 in Toms River and Trenton (2026, est.). Shore counties add salt corrosion on cables, rollers and bottom brackets, which the same source and DASMA's spring data sheet both name as a life-shortener.

When you call

No New Jersey company on this page publishes an after-hours dollar figure. HomeGuide's national cable page prices an emergency, weekend or holiday cable repair at $250 – $350+ against $150 – $250 scheduled (October 8, 2025), and HomeAdvisor tells you to budget for emergency service fees (June 20, 2026). If the door is closed and the car is out, a next-morning slot is the cheaper call.

How to Avoid Overpaying for a Garage Door Repair

None of this requires knowing how a torsion system works. It requires a named part and count, a dated reference range, and a registered provider. The tables above supply the first two; the State lookup supplies the third.

  • Ask whether the service fee is credited toward the repair. Precision's $69 fee is waived if you approve the work (checked October 13, 2026); Home Services Co bills $99 an hour with a one-hour minimum and itemizes the dispatch fee on an emergency call (checked October 13, 2026). The answer changes the bill by the whole fee.
  • Get the part and the count on the quote: one torsion spring or two, which cables, how many rollers. A line that says spring repair can be checked against the table above; a line that says tune-up kit cannot.
  • On a two-spring door, ask for the price of both springs together. South Jersey Garage Doors prices one at $270 and two at $380 – $480 (checked October 13, 2026). The second spring is cheaper than a second visit.
  • Ask the cycle rating of the spring going in. A 10,000-cycle spring is the builder grade; Ez2Fix sells 25,000-cycle springs as an upgrade, and the price difference belongs on the quote, not in a surprise.
  • For an opener, ask whether the fault is a sensor, a logic board or the motor. Kraus prices sensors at $50 – $120 and a logic board at $120 – $250 on top of $120 – $350 labor (checked October 13, 2026), and says to replace the unit when it is 12 to 15 years old or the repair passes half the cost of a new one. Bergen Restoration draws the line at 10 years (2026).
  • For panel damage, ask whether the manufacturer still makes the section. Ez2Fix says a door with more than two damaged panels is almost always cheaper to replace outright (April 5, 2026), and Bergen Restoration says a discontinued section shifts the math fast (2026).
  • Confirm the installer's home improvement contractor registration on the State lookup before anyone starts. Garage door work is listed home improvement work in New Jersey, and the registration number (13VH followed by eight digits) belongs on the contract and the truck.
  • Do not pay for a permit line on a like-for-like repair. N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.7(c)1v makes the replacement of a garage door in the same opening ordinary maintenance, with no permit, inspection or notice required, and (c)3ii does the same for repairs to any motor-operated device, which includes the opener.

How LA Trusted Partners Fits Into Your Repair

This page is research

LA Trusted publishes this cost guide so you can budget from real published figures. It does not inspect doors, diagnose faults, or set any of the prices above.

The request is consent-first

You describe the door, the property, and the urgency. Your contact information is shared with a matched independent garage door provider only after you agree to the disclosure.

The provider owns the work

Diagnosis, pricing, the repair, and any warranty come from the independent provider. You verify their registration and decide whether to hire them — submitting a request commits you to nothing.

Compare Garage Door Repair Quotes From Independent NJ Providers

Tell us who you are and where the property is, then note what the door is doing: a bang and a door that will not lift, a door hanging crooked, an opener that runs but does not move it, or a panel that was hit. We take it from there and an independent local garage door provider calls you back.

Coverage depends on the town. LA Trusted does not do the work itself and does not promise a response time, so the diagnosis, pricing, and warranty come from the provider who calls you.

Already have a quote? Check the part against the tables and bring the gap, if there is one, to the second provider. The garage door repair request page takes the same request with the door's symptoms up front.

Who you are
What you need
Anything else?

LA Trusted Partners is a referral network, not the contractor. Our independent providers pay us for marketing and software services, and you're always free to choose whether to hire them.

Garage Door Repair Cost in NJ: Frequently Asked Questions

How much does garage door repair cost in New Jersey?

Ez2Fix, an Elmwood Park installer, puts the average Northern NJ repair at $150 to $400 including parts and labor (April 5, 2026). Bergen Restoration's 2026 planning ranges run $200 to $450 for springs, $150 to $350 for cables, $100 to $250 for a set of rollers, $250 to $600 for one panel and $150 to $400 for an opener repair. Nationally, HomeAdvisor's June 20, 2026 figure is $155 to $379 with a $265 average, and HomeGuide's January 6, 2026 figure is $150 to $350.

How much does it cost to replace a garage door spring in NJ?

For one torsion spring, New Jersey installers publish $270 (South Jersey Garage Doors, Linwood) and $450 to $770 (Precision Overhead Garage Door of NJ, nine northern counties), both checked October 13, 2026. For both springs: $380 to $480 (South Jersey Garage Doors), $200 to $400 or more (Ez2Fix, April 5, 2026) and $200 to $450 (Bergen Restoration, 2026). The national figure for the pair is $150 to $350 (HomeAdvisor, June 17, 2026; HomeGuide, October 27, 2025).

Should I replace one spring or both?

Every New Jersey installer on this page says both when the door has two. Precision: springs are installed and wear together, so when one has broken the second is often close to its service limit, and the decision is yours. Ez2Fix: the other has identical wear and will snap within weeks. The second spring costs far less than the second visit: South Jersey Garage Doors prices one at $270 and two at $380 to $480 (checked October 13, 2026).

Why do garage door springs break in winter in New Jersey?

Ez2Fix's March 24, 2026 article: cold steel is less elastic and contracts, which raises internal stress and lets existing micro-fractures spread faster, and Northern NJ's freeze-thaw swings (a 45°F Tuesday, a 12°F Wednesday) add hundreds of thermal stress cycles to the mechanical ones, so a spring at the end of its life in October crosses the breaking point on a cold January morning. DASMA's Technical Data Sheet 190 lists extreme heat or cold, moisture, saline coastal air and a lack of lubrication among the factors that shorten spring cycle life. HomeGuide puts torsion spring life at 7 to 14 years or 10,000 to 20,000 cycles (October 27, 2025).

How much does a garage door service call cost in NJ?

Precision Overhead Garage Door of NJ charges $69 to come out, including an inspection of the door and opener, and waives it if you have them do the repair (checked October 13, 2026). Home Services Co charges $99 an hour with a one-hour minimum and itemizes a dispatch fee separately on an emergency call (checked October 13, 2026). Ez2Fix offers a free on-site estimate (April 5, 2026). Nationally, HomeAdvisor puts labor at $75 to $150 an hour and a quick service call at $50 to $75 (June 20, 2026).

How much more does emergency garage door repair cost?

No New Jersey company on this page publishes a dollar surcharge. Ez2Fix says some companies charge premiums for emergency service and that it quotes a flat rate before work begins (March 24, 2026); Home Services Co says it charges no weekend or holiday premium and shows the dispatch fee as its own line (checked October 13, 2026). HomeGuide's national cable page prices an emergency, after-hours or holiday cable repair at $250 to $350 or more against $150 to $250 scheduled (October 8, 2025). Ask for the after-hours figure before you book, and if the door is closed and the car is out, take the morning slot.

Should I repair or replace my garage door opener?

Kraus Garage Door says to consider replacement when the unit is 12 to 15 or more years old, repairs pass about half the cost of a new opener, the motor or logic board has failed, or you want quieter operation and smart control (checked October 13, 2026). Bergen Restoration says a full replacement is often cheaper once the opener is 10 or more years old (2026). Ez2Fix: repair runs $125 to $250 and replacement $300 to $700 or more, and an opener over 10 to 15 years old or without modern safety sensors is usually better replaced (April 5, 2026). Nationally, a new opener installs for $218 to $540, average $379 (HomeAdvisor, June 20, 2026).

Is it cheaper to replace a panel or the whole door?

One panel runs $250 to $800 or more in Northern NJ (Ez2Fix, April 5, 2026) or $250 to $600 depending on match (Bergen Restoration, 2026); nationally $250 to $1,000 (HomeAdvisor, June 20, 2026). Ez2Fix says a door with more than two damaged panels is almost always cheaper to replace, and that an old or sun-faded door may not color-match a new panel. Bergen Restoration prices a new single-car steel door at $900 to $1,600 and an insulated one at $1,400 to $2,400 installed (2026); HomeAdvisor's national replacement average is $1,231 (June 17, 2026).

Do I need a permit to replace a garage door or opener in New Jersey?

Not for a like-for-like job. N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.7(c)1v lists the replacement of any window or door, including garage doors, in the same opening without altering the dimensions or framing of the original opening as ordinary maintenance, for which no permit, inspection or notice is required. N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.7(c)3ii lists repairs to any installed motor-operated device as ordinary electrical maintenance. Widening the opening or changing its framing is structural work outside ordinary maintenance and needs a construction permit. Bergen Restoration lists a $100 to $300 building permit where required (2026); on a same-opening replacement, ask what it is for.

Does a garage door installer need a license in New Jersey?

New Jersey registers rather than licenses this trade. The Division of Consumer Affairs' Home Improvement Contractor page lists doors and garages among the work that requires registration, registrations expire every March 31, and the registration number (13VH followed by eight digits) must appear on the contract. Precision shows NJHIC 13VH03118600 and Ez2Fix 13VH13553300 on their pages. Check any number on the State's license verification lookup before work starts.

Does homeowners insurance cover a broken garage door spring or opener?

No. LegalClarity (June 30, 2026): a spring that breaks from years of use, an opener motor that simply stops working, and wear on cables, rollers and panels are excluded from a standard homeowners policy; damage from a covered peril such as a vehicle impact, windstorm, hail, fire, falling tree limbs or vandalism is covered, under dwelling coverage for an attached garage and under other-structures coverage for a detached one, which is typically capped at 10 percent of the dwelling limit. A claim stays on your record for three to five years, and SmartFinancial (February 26, 2024) puts the average premium rise after a wind claim at 9 percent and the most common deductible at $1,000, so a spring or opener repair in the ranges on this page is paid out of pocket.

How long do garage door springs last?

HomeGuide: torsion springs last 7 to 14 years or 10,000 to 20,000 cycles, extension springs 4 to 10 years or 5,000 to 15,000 cycles (October 27, 2025). HomeAdvisor: 10,000 to 20,000 cycles, about eight to 15 years (June 17, 2026). Ez2Fix: a standard 10,000-cycle spring lasts about five to seven years for a family that uses the garage as its main entry, and a 25,000-cycle spring pushes past 15 years (March 24, 2026).

Sources used on this page

Every source in this list was checked live, and every figure taken from it re-read, on October 13, 2026. Sources that show no date carry that check date. Est. marks garagedoorrepaircalculator.com, an estimator rather than an installer.

Ready to compare garage door repair quotes?

Start with one documented request. You stay in control of whether your information is shared with a matched independent garage door provider, and you verify every provider directly before signing anything.